Skip to content

On instant satisfaction

July 22, 2009
tags:

The poetic in everyday talk. That’s how I’m billing my National Poetry Day performance / participation piece here at the Bluecoat. I think it’s vague enough for me to have some flexability while I allow the ideas to gestate, while still explaining the kind of approach. Perhaps though, the description ‘the everyday creation of the poetic’ would be more suitable. I’d hate to think that people would assume that I think phrases such as “but that’s what you said” are poetic in themselves. Rather that through crafting and craftiness these phrases can be wrought into something poetic, which transcends All This. THIS!

O, This.

Maybe if I put the phrase “but that’s what you whispered” on a piece of paper, wrapped it around my fist and hit a tree with it.

For the public piece on national poetry day, though, there are a couple of exercises I am considering using. None seem suitable when you are thinking about sitting in the hub at the Bluecoat trying to get people to come over to you and take part. All seem suitable when you are thinking about standing talking with people as they are taking part.

With this kind of exercise, for me the best approach for ‘instant satisfaction’ – or a little instance of the kind of self satisfaction us creatives live with all the time – is to encourage two elements that wouldn’t normally be thrown together to spark off each other. This can be achieved by getting people to collaborate – in the kind of exquisite corpse way, so one person’s voice bounces off the other – or by putting a phrase in people’s mind that they wouldn’t normally associate with themselves…

“My poetic licence lets me….”

“I am a storm you are a lighthouse…”

After that, the trick is really just about how to present it, and I’m lucky that there are lots of talented people and ideas treading the boards at the Bluecoat.

N

My poetic licence lets me turn soft wet tissue

brains into flint and clip them together

lighting all the hair on my head and face on fire:

makes me blush.

It’s an obvious little extended metaphor, but I like it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 9, 2009 9:14 am

    thank you! I really liked this post!

Leave a Reply

